Finally, Some Good News

I got three bits of positive news in the past few days, which is a pleasant change from my usual freaking out over stupid stuff. One, the appeal I gave to IUPUI for my charged fees after dropping classes this semester was granted! That means I can register for fall. How I’m going to feel about taking classes with a two-month-old at home, I do not know.

Second, I might have found someone to buy my scooter. I’ve been trying to get rid of it since October, when I found out I was pregnant and realized I was too freaked out and paranoid to ride it. I know it’ll be a while before I feel comfortable riding on something like that after I have this kid, and I certainly don’t want to put the kid on it . . then it’ll be cold out and I’ll just still be making payments on something I’m not using. I put up an ad on CraigsList and had someone contact me about coming out to look at it next weekend. We’ll see if it happens. If it doesn’t, do you know someone who might want it? It’s brand new and has only 133 miles on it.

Thirdly, I finally have an advisor in the English department. I have been going around in circles about getting one for a couple of years now, and they sent out an email with a list of students and their assigned advisors. I was hoping I might get one of two or three instructors who I really like. Instead, I was placed with the head of the department. I don’t know if that’s good or bad, but at least I have someone to speak with, and he doesn’t have a lot of other students assigned to him, so at least he won’t be spread too thin.

One thought on “Finally, Some Good News

  1. At two months, you’ll probably be averaging six hours of straight sleep a night (well, depending on what time you go to bed), so it might be doable. I know people who take 5 weeks maternity leave and go back to a full teaching load. I don’t know. I think I may have gone crazy at that point! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

