Taking Bets

Yesterday morning I woke up around 3am to what can only be described as the most excruciating pain I have ever experienced. I had this uncontrollable urge to pee, and after my first try, could not. I kept trying and trying, with this sharp, stabbing pain on the lower left side of my back and abdomen. Then I started chugging water to try and make myself pee, at which point I would hold the water down for about five minutes before I would throw it all up. The nice thing was, despite the projectile nature of it, the water was still cold. For a minute there, I thought I might be going in to pre-term labor, I was in so much pain.

The only reason I’m sharing this with you is because I have never felt anything this horrible in my life. And I’m sure there’s someone out there who will say, “That’s nothing!” or “It’ll get worse!” Because, yes, I understand that childbirth is probably worse than passing a kidney stone in the middle of the night whilst vomiting. However, an epidural to ease my pain was not readily accesible that night, or I would have had one.

I got about two more hours of sleep, off and on, once the pain finally subsided, then I had to be at work from noon until 8pm last night. I came straight home, took some Tylenol, and went to bed. I was back at work at 20 after five this morning.

When I got home from work today, Charlie said he was proud of me. “Why?” I asked. “Because you passed a kidney stone while you’re pregnant and then went to work for eight hours with no break.” I laughed. “That’s sweet,” I said, “but now is not the time for me to be calling in. Now is the time to pretend like I care about my job.”

Thursday is our next OB appointment, at which point we’re supposed to be able to tell the gender. I’m a little over 20 or 21 weeks pregnant (it’s hard to keep track, and every calendar I used gives me different dates). Halfway there. So, I’m taking bets if you want to guess the sex. Names may be kept secret until it’s on the birth certificate and no one can object. (Although all of you know at least one by now.) The winner will receive the self satisfaction of guessing correctly on something with a 50% chance either way. Although, statistically it’s more like 53-47/girl-boy.

3 thoughts on “Taking Bets

  1. Shoot… I just hope it’s a baby!!! 😉

    Holy crap you passed a kidney stone? Ouch! Well, just keep telling yourself child birth will be much easier.

  2. That sounds pretty awful. I’m not sure labor could be worse than that, and like you said– with labor there’s access to strong drugs. I agree with Charlie. You’re admirably tough.

Leave a Reply

