Ethical Eating

Thanks to Jay, I’ve been devouring (pun intended) The Omnivore’s Dilemma. The information within isn’t anything I didn’t know, deep down, but it’s shocking to find out exactly how much corn and synthetic (if not downright toxic) materials are being put into our food all for the sake of convenience and low, low prices.

I probably have just a chapter or two to go, but I’ve felt for days that I just want to buy a farm and grow all my own food.

Charlie hasn’t read it yet, but he’s gotten more than a few earfuls. He, too, is concerned about supporting sustainable farms and eating ethically, as well as locally. This was a big part of our New Year’s resolutions from 2008. The dilemma, for me, is that I’m not a big meat-eater, but I’m concerned that the Peanut isn’t getting enough protein. I told Charlie I would try to eat more chicken, if it’s local, free-range, and raised and killed humanely.

We discovered that the Fresh Market down the street actually sells only grass-fed meat. I asked Charlie “how much” grass, as in — how much of the animal’s diet is actually real grass, and how much do they tell us that to make us think it eats only grass? But until we discover someplace or someone that does feed its animals only natural grass and other ingredients that belong in an animal’s diet besides other animals, it will have to do.

And, tonight, we still have to worry about our dinner. And Charlie is a big fan of meatloaf. I was curious to see if I could find a good substitute for regular ol’ red meat meatloaf, so I put “ground turkey meatloaf” in the Google search box. The second recipe that came up was, and I shit you not, “Ground Turkey Vegetarian Meat Loaf.” The first ingredient is one pound of ground turkey.

It’s a sad world we live in when substituting red meat for any other kind of meat makes a food “vegetarian.”

2 thoughts on “Ethical Eating

  1. I just watched a show on TV the other night about how Corn is in nearly everything we consume or use. I was also shocked to find out how the corn we eat today is nothing like the corn our ancestors used way back in the day. I mean I knew that we cross bread that stuff but I had no idea it LOOKS nothing like what it did moons ago.

Leave a Reply

