Babies, Babies Everywhere

Sunday I met a 12-hour-hold newborn named Kaya. She was sort of mauve and her head was a little pointy. She stared directly at me and I tried not to stare at her mother’s breast when she was torn away for me to gaze upon. I kept saying “Holy crap! You had a baby!” And Maureen was like, “I know! It’s crazy!”

Sarah’s starting to show and Mel seems to be doing quite nicely. An old friend from high school is due this week, and my tattoo artist is expected to pop next week.

I had a pap this morning and had to decide whether or not I wanted to get a new birth control prescription. My nice doctor was slightly concerned that I’m not pregnant, but I didn’t tell her that I have no idea how any of that stuff works. Conception and ovulation, body temperatures and thermometers. I’m clearly not quite dedicated to the idea of it, or, as Charlie says, I’d have completely quit smoking by now. But the doctor said everything “looks good down there,” and if I’m not knocked up in the next couple of months, she’ll make sure stuff is operating properly by sending me to an OB/GYN.

I don’t know that I want to take it that far. If it happens, it happens. If it doesn’t, it doesn’t. I don’t want to find myself being poked, prodded, injected, and inseminated all for the sake of my personal procreation. Not to mention the fact that I can barely afford to make the truck payment this month. Nothing against anyone who has done this, but I don’t think my heart is in it enough to go to those lengths. But my periods are nasty enough being off the pill that I would like to either avoid them for 9 months, or go back on the pill. It would also be nice to time things in such a way that I could take the summer off, although I’ve already discovered that I have to take a math class next summer in order to graduate as planned.

But I guess that’s one thing about babies; you can’t really completely plan for that kind of thing.

3 thoughts on “Babies, Babies Everywhere

  1. Trying not to go all psycho TTC on you. I am excited that you are open to the idea of having a baby, since I think you and Charlie would make amazing parents and I would love love to have our kid grow up with yours. Even though you wouldn’t think it from reading our blog, getting pregnant can be pretty low tech, and you do not have take your temp every day. Let me meet you somewhere for coffee or lunch. I can walk you through basic fertility signs in 10 minutes or less. Plus, I would love to see you again.

    Not that you probably have the time for extra reading, but Taking Charge of Your Fertility is the best book ever on this subject. If only my dog-eared copy were not in St. Louis right now taking up room on the shelf of someone who got knocked up 2 months after reading it (sigh– nice for them).

  2. Honey. Let me save you some time

    Here was my recipe to getting pregnant:

    Sex.

    On top. From behind. On the bottom.

    It’s all good.

    I never really had to think about when my last period was an all that, so I was lucky. I would say, tell Charlie you want to have sex daily, and you’ll be golden.

    🙂

    Who’s having a baby this week?

  3. Just so you know, nasty periods do not compare with the potential discomfort of pregnancy. Sure, you don’t bleed for nine months (hopefully), but the aches, pains, headaches, bloaty feeling…all still there. Mood swings time 10. Plus, you have a little being in you kicking…a lot. And so hard some times it makes you jump. If you are lucky like I was, no vomitting or heartburn. If you are unlucky (also like me), the little booger sits on a nerver for the last three months which not only causes excruciating pain, but also somehow messes with your blood supply causing you to black out every now and then–once while driving on 465.

Leave a Reply

