Challenges

I just realized I’ve gone almost a week without posting anything. So grab a cup of coffee and settle in.

If I feel busy now, just with a full time job, I can’t imagine how I’m going to feel once classes begin. I’m only at about 30-35 hours a week right now, mainly for the health insurance, but my shifts are pretty long. People say “it must be nice getting off work at 2 in the afternoon,” but I’m beat by then, having come in at 5:30 in the morning, being on my feet all day, stinking of coffee, sweating in front of the bar.

This weekend I’m closing both Friday and Saturday nights. This will be — and I shit you not — the first Saturday morning I haven’t worked since July of last year. For a second I thought, come on, wasn’t Christmas – some holiday in the past year – on a Saturday? No, ’cause we’re only closed on Thanksgiving and Christmas days every year. I realize I’m not counting the morning I worked at the Art Fair, because, despite not being at the store, I still had to be up at 6 and I had to work the fair with the owners.

My last visit with the shrinks from the anxiety study was Tuesday and my first visit with my new counselor. She’s good. Like, really good. She specializes in specific phobias and bitch had me in tears within 15 minutes. I can’t believe how lucky I am to have this opportunity. My visits cost $10 as long as I’m a student at IU and I’m taking full advantage. Who knows? In a few months I may be jet-setting to Las Vegas and New York or making all of you drive me around!

A friend sent me an email yesterday about a new study at the Kinsey Institute. I won’t go in to all the gory details. Essentially, they’re researching women’s sexuality and I might get paid to look at dirty pictures. Terrible waste of my time. I would totally never do such a thing! But, yeah. I’m still waiting to hear back to see if I’m a good candidate.

We saw The Dark Knight again on Sunday, this time with two friends of Charlie’s from work, and my friend Audrey. You really know how old you are when you’re tsk-tsking a “young person” for text messaging during a movie or dinner. Some rumors have been going on about Christian Bale’s alleged “assault” of his mother and one of his sister. What I have heard is that they wanted to “borrow” a few hundred thousand dollars from him and he declined their request, at which point they said some nasty things and he responded in kind. They tried to have him arrested, unsuccessfully, and no charges have been filed.

Yes, I read too many gossip blogs.

Audrey is officially coming back to the coffee shop and our stoner friend is quitting, which works out because she needs his hours and he’s been completely irresponsible lately.

He left me in the lurch on Sunday, my day off, when I had to come in and cover for his ass. At seven in the morning I hear pounding on the front door and stumble, half-dressed with my PJs falling off, to peek through the blinds. I see it’s one of our newest employees, Maureen (who, by the way, is due to have a baby in about 5 weeks), and parked in front of my house is one of our regular customers who has apparently given her a ride over. At first I think I’m late for work and Maureen just keeps apologizing over and over again. She doesn’t have anyone’s phone number, doesn’t know how to get hold of anyone. Maureen lives right around the corner from me and often walks her dog by my house, so all she knew to do was come knock on my door.

In my confusion I ask if I’m supposed to be working and she says no, someone else is, but no one’s at the store. I tell her to hold on a second and run upstairs to throw on clothes. I managed to put my shirt on inside out and slip on brown shoes with an all-black outfit. Nice.

We hear nothing from Mark, the opener, all day, despite my calling him, his sister/roommate, and our manager Sarah. Sarah calls his other sister, with whom she is close friends, and the entire reason he even works with us. No one returns anyone else’s calls. By the time I go to bed Sunday night, I’m convinced Mark is in jail or dead in a ditch.

No one hears anything all of Monday, either, until right before he’s scheduled to come in at 2pm. His reason for the no-call/no-show on Sunday? He got wasted Saturday night, no one would let him drive home, and by the time he woke up on Sunday it was after 11am. By this time, he told me, he “was like, eff it, I don’t need that job, screw it.” He said this directly to me when I asked what happened.

He put in his two weeks, which is a good thing, because I was considering punching him in the throat if he ever asked me to help him out again. What hurts my feelings is the fact that the guy has worked there for about a year and we have all helped him out, considered ourselves his friends. If he wanted to punish the owners or customers somehow, he failed, and ultimately just punished the three of us that had to go in on our day off or stay longer to cover his shift. What a dick move.

One thought on “Challenges

  1. I like this entry. Not because of the shitty things that were done to you/friends, but because you laid it all out. The tone is awesome. It’s like YOU are emerging, even blooming.

    🙂

    Last night I dreamed that I was married to Christian Bale. But for some reason, I called him Heath Ledger. Anyway, I didn’t *know* it was Christian or that he was famous until this movie had come out. Then I was all, “I am married to a movie star!”

    I hope you get into the study. It sounds like fun to me.

Leave a Reply

