The Sinking Ship

We got our helmets this afternoon, right before my migraine started really raging, and right before I had to go in to work. I tried to nap on the couch for 30 minutes or so, but it just wasn’t going away. In case you haven’t noticed, and I’ll spare our male friends the details, but I just so happen to get one migraine about, oh, I don’t know … once every 28 days or so. It’s incredibly frustrating because, short of taking a painkiller that will knock me out for the entire day, there isn’t much I can do to avoid it. I try not to have too much caffeine in the days leading up to the inevitable, to consume less salt, to have more fresh fruits and vegetables, and to exercise more. But that first day …

I was really not looking forward to working tonight. I discovered that, on top of our usual Wednesday afternoon delivery from the warehouse, I would also have to train a new kid who’s only here for the summer. His attitude is less than enthusiastic, and I’m sure the fact that he’s going to college in August has something to do with it. He seemed like a nice enough little guy, but just doesn’t have that Sense of Urgency I respect from my fellow employees. The few that have ever had it.

To summarize the past few weeks, we had one employee fired on a Saturday night with no warning; John was given two weeks to put in his resignation or be fired; the payroll/accountant woman at Charlie’s office quit with no warning on Monday and now Matt (my co-worker) wants her job. I was actually asking him if he thought John would be interested and Matt flew past me to talk to Charlie about it. I heard he actually called the club today to ask about the position. Matt is, besides the manager, the only truly “full time” person we have. He works 40 hours per week, gets health insurance, and even has a 401(k). He’s also been there 6 months longer than me, which puts him right at about 3 1/2 years, so I know he’s burnt out. But I just don’t know what we’re going to do if we lose another person.

Our recent hires have included two teenagers who are going to college in the fall and one pregnant hippie who’s due (I’m guessing here) in about three or four months. One girl put in an application last week who is currently unemployed, has experience in coffee shops, and wants to work full time. Sarah never called her. Leticia is back in town and is looking for work, but if she comes back to the store, she only wants to be part time.

Charlie’s got his own drama at work. He’s trying to decide between this other job at the gym and — if the owner at the club offers it to him — a managing partnership. This could significantly raise his salary (perhaps more than doubling it) if the owner really wants to step out and let Charlie and this other guy do their thing. Essentially, Charlie and the guy who usually manages bands would like to run the place at opposite times. The other guy has a second baby on the way and does not want to work nights anymore. Charlie doesn’t mind the hours as long as he gets compensated for it, and doesn’t have to work days so he can take classes. If the money’s right, he said, he doesn’t care.

It’s frustrating to sit back and just wait to see what happens, but I also don’t really care what he does. Of course, I’d be thrilled if he could make enough money to start loading up the savings account so he could do whatever he wants, whenever he wants. Whether it’s taking classes, going on a vacation, buying a house, or even just quitting a job for 6 months to watch soap operas and get really fat. As long as he’s happy, I’ll support his decision.

One thought on “The Sinking Ship

  1. I have the same migraine problem, and timing, as you do. But two things have changed my life:

    1. Seasonalle. Reduce that headache time-frame to 4 times a year instead of 12 times a year. Seriously. Apologies to our male friends.

    2. Zomig. This completely eradicates my migraines if I take it early enough, doesn’t knock me out, and has no undesirable side effects on me, to speak of.

Leave a Reply

