The Decent News, the Bad News, and the Really Bad News

I think I can say with over 100% certainty that I did not get the placebo. I have slept more in the past 24 hours than I think I have in the past week. The drug knocked me out last night around 10pm and I didn’t get up until 8:30. I felt okay at first, but then got really drowsy. I was a complete vegetable all morning and fell back to sleep on the couch for another hour and a half! I had to work this afternoon, so I went in and immediately notified Mark that I was going to really need his help. I don’t think I fully woke up until about 5pm.

This sucks.

I don’t want to keep taking the pills. I like the Zoloft. I like the counseling. I just don’t like taking 50mg of an anti-psychotic. When I signed up for the study I didn’t really know what it would entail, and ever since I found out, I’ve been hesitant but willing to give it a try. Despite the fact that the doctors told me the drowsiness “might” wear off in a few days, I also have to double my dose on Friday night. In case you didn’t know, I’m working the Art Fair on Saturday. With the owner. The last thing I need is her getting pissed at me for not being able to keep up with her pace.

I also have to work with her several times at the store over the next couple of weeks. Since one person was fired on Saturday, and with Sarah going on vacation over Memorial Day, we’re sort of screwed. Leticia called, which was good news. She’s back in town, so she might be starting back soon. And Molly is back for a couple of shifts each week. But Mark wants to work less, so I took some of his shifts, and covered a couple more that Sarah hadn’t filled yet. She hired three new people over the phone tonight, and I don’t know if it was out of desperation or because she thinks they might be a good fit.

I asked her what was up with our other employee — the one who might be getting fired because of complaints. She said they’re going to have a talk soon and she’s going to give him a chance to find something else. Kind of like a “Sorry, but you have to quit so I don’t have to fire you,” kind of thing. I feel terrible about it because I like him and I enjoy working with him, but he does get a lot of complaints.

Because of all this, and because I’m taking a summer class that I have to pay out of pocket, I’m working 6 out of 7 days each of the next two weeks. I also noticed I’m scheduled until 11am on the second day of my class, which starts at 10am. So now I’m going to have to try and find someone to switch or ask Sarah to figure it out. I gave her my schedule a few weeks ago, but I suppose she forgot.

To make matters worse, my dad was fired, too. He had just started a new job but was having a lot of health problems and I just got an email from my mom that they let him go. Of course, there isn’t anything I can really do about it, although I wish there was.

Leave a Reply

