Crewel Work

crewel.jpgI feel guilty if I do something that might be considered “too fun” while I’m in school. Since this week is our spring break, Charlie and I made a list of things we want to get done. One of which, for me, is to work on crewel and wool embroidery. I have several different half-finished projects – both embroidery and handbags – and I have about a dozen different bags sitting around the sewing room, asking to be given a lining or better handles. I have three people who want to come over and have another craft party to learn to use a sewing machine and another half-dozen who want to learn something like knitting (which I have yet to figure out on my own). But it seems I want to learn something new on my own first. Especially since crafting has fallen to the wayside during the semester.

I mentioned something to Katie, our trainer at work, about doing a sewing thing this weekend, but when I broached the subject with the other interested parties, everyone had something else going on. The original craft party was successful because no one had done anything like it before. Now it doesn’t seem as novel and, while people express interest in learning another skill, I think it seems like a hassle. Everyone’s sewing machine is different, so teaching 3 or 4 of my friends how to use mine doesn’t really seem fair. And working out the logistics of everyone bringing their own machine just seem way too complicated.

I am proud of the fact that I inspired at least one other person to start her own group, though; this one is a small quilting bee, and a fellow student in my journalism class is teaching a group of her own friends how to make quilts by hand-sewing. I wanted to go to her first bee, because making at least one quilt in my lifetime is a goal, but she only has them on Thursday nights, at a place on the far west side. I have class until six on Thursdays and I almost always open on Friday mornings, so it doesn’t seem that will work for me.

I know what I really need to do is just pick a day, an afternoon, and tell everyone “Be here.” If I wander around, asking people if they’re interested, they’ll all say “Sure!” but we won’t get much done that way.

For the time being, I was thinking about picking up a large wooden hoop (the only ones I have are plastic), some wool, a larger needle, and a book of patterns that will tell me what’s different about crewel and wool as opposed to what I have been doing with regular embroidery thread.

4 thoughts on “Crewel Work

  1. Melody –
    As soon as I figure it out, I will let you know! I think the only big difference between crewel and regular embroidery is the thread and the type of material you use. You also use wider stitches. I tried to find the book at Borders that I wanted, but they didn’t have it in stock, so I ordered it from Amazon. Maybe we should have a combined knitting/crewel work party!

Leave a Reply

