A Second Chance

I’ve never had one of those nightmares where you walk down the hallway naked in high school or you show up late for an exam or on the last day of class.

I did, however, wake up at four in the morning a couple of weeks ago, sweating and in a panic, because I realized my midterm paper was an argument essay with an introduction and a conclusion, and not a review of literature. This was the morning after I’d gone to campus and handed in the paper to my instructor. I should have told him right then that I somehow ended up with something completely different from the assignment, but I didn’t.

I don’t know how I managed to do that. The instructions were clear on the assignment sheet he’d given us. While I was writing it I just completely forgot the purpose of the paper.

Last week, when we got our papers back, I was mortified to see he’d marked it “B-” and noted exactly what I’d feared: “This is an essay more than a review of the literature. What happened?” But then he told the whole class that several of us had done this and we were getting an opportunity to revise our papers.

Thank god. I don’t want to do the work, but I don’t think I could handle anything less than an A- in a 200-level English course.

It’s stupid, but you gotta have goals, right?

2 thoughts on “A Second Chance

Leave a Reply

