Touchy-Feely

Several positive things happened today. I feel guilty feeling good about them because several people I know are going through some really rough times right now, but I also want to try and savor the small, positive things because something tells me I have some rough waters of my own ahead.

Bad news first.

My dad and my mom’s parents haven’t been doing too well lately. My dad doesn’t like to talk to people about what’s going, so I hear bits and pieces from my mom. They keep changing his medication around and haven’t been able to find one yet that successfully works for the latest in a series of issues he’s been dealing with the past few years. And since he doesn’t like to talk about it, I won’t air his dirty laundry and give any specifics. Suffice it to say his plate is full and while I’ve been worried for a while, I’m starting to feel quite a bit of anxiety about what his future holds.

Cavan is definitely moving out and his dad has negotiated a lower portion of his rent with us. He refused to pay the full 8 months for Cavan and, while we took off his security deposit and $100 for his bed, it sounds like his dad is just going to cut us a check, directly, rather than dealing with the landlord.  So we’ll have to budget and move the money around each month. Starting in June, we’ll be paying the full rent on our own. It shouldn’t be too bad until then since, realistically, it’s practically a year away, but it will be a significant raise in our monthly bills next year. I know I shouldn’t worry myself about it now, but I’m going to, whether I want to or not. There’s no way I could come up with the extra on my own, so we’re going to have to cut back on just about everything to make up the difference.

The good stuff is that I received a lot of compliments on my new tattoo today, and no one has had anything negative to say about it. I know there are some regulars who come in who probably absolutely hate it (tattoos definitely aren’t for everyone and I don’t hold anything against people that despise them), but I’m glad those people don’t bother to say anything. If you don’t like it, just be glad it’s not on your arm.

I also got a compliment from a girl who I know from school and coming in to the coffeeshop. She said every time she sees me I always look really cute. I thought that was funny, because I feel like I dress like a slob most of the time. I said thank you and laughed because the jeans I had on were the only ones I have clean and they’ve got paint all over them.  But she said that’s okay; people think you’re artsy-fartsy and you’re just taking a break from painting masterpieces all day. I thought that was a nice way to look at it.

I also got an invitation to join another fraternity. It would be my second at IUPUI, both of which are honors societies. This one has more requirements to join and I have to attend meetings to get my pin, certificate, and apply for scholarships.  The last one was just something I can put on my resume, but this one claims to offer a lot more.

I don’t know what this semester has in store for me. I’m doing my best – for the most part – but my classes are significantly more time consuming and I have to think. A lot. Critical analysis has never been one of my strongest suits so I really have the exercise the ol’ noggin.

I guess I’m just taking a break from worrying to recognize the nice little things in the day.

2 thoughts on “Touchy-Feely

Leave a Reply

