What a Fun, Sexy Time for You!

The title is a quote from “Arrested Development.” George Michael says this to Maeby when he thinks she’s going to sleep with Steve Holt! who is also their cousin because their uncle GOB is his father. That was a little convoluted, but if you watch the show you know what I’m talking about.

So Cavan got a call from, as we affectionately call them, The Spain People, who offered him a position after having been on the waiting list for two months. Since he didn’t have a whole lot else going on, he accepted the offer. Of course he now has barely three weeks to sell his car, computer, and desk (among other things), get his visa in person in Chicago, and transfer all of his stuff over to his parents’ house that needs to be stored. Except I think Katie from work is going to buy his car because her Volvo is falling apart.

I am tremendously excited for him because I know he hasn’t had anything on the horizon for a while. After graduating and applying to the program, then being wait-listed, he didn’t know what else to do. I am also tremendously excited for me because we can clean out the basement, move the cat boxes upstairs, and turn his room into a guest room/office for me. I don’t know for sure if the cats have been peeing in the basement, but it sure smells that way and I’d like to get their litterboxes out of there and keep the door closed for a while. A little experiment to see if the smell is coming from some other source.

And, of course, there’s the whole why-is-it-that-no-matter-how-big-the-place-we-move-into-is-we-always-outgrow-it issue and how we’ll able to stretch out a bit more and even have a guest bedroom if we’d like. I don’t know what we’ll do if we move in to a smaller place after this. Sell a lot of stuff, I guess.

Over all I’ve really enjoyed having Cavan as a housemate. He’s a lot cleaner than most of the other people who have lived with me, but being a younger guy we sometimes seem to have an older sister/young brother sort of relationship. At times I feel he’s deliberately antagonizing me just for shits and giggles. I think part of that has had to do with his not being busy and not really working except doing the kitchen remodeling thing for his folks. I really hope this opportunity opens up new doors and gets him motivated. If nothing else, he’ll probably be really busy and won’t have time to worry about What’s Next. And hopefully, something will come up as a result of this program.

Either way, I’m glad for everyone involved.

One thought on “What a Fun, Sexy Time for You!

Leave a Reply

