Consumption, Haircuts, and Goats

me and the goats at the state fairI finally broke down and bought myself a nice digital SLR through NewEgg. I haven’t gotten it yet, but thanks to student loans, it’ll probably be here Monday. I’ve been putting it off . . . well, probably since they first came out with them. In a way, though, I’m glad because at least I waited until the point that the technology is so advanced that everything else won’t catch up to it for a while. Kind of like terabyte hard drives; who really needs that much space on their home computer?

I have always been a Canon girl. I don’t know why. Probably because it’s the brand my dad always used, and it’s the first brand of 35mm I used for a photography course I took in high school. Probably because it’s still more affordable than a Nikon D50. This one is a Rebel and has 8 megapixels which, according to what I’ve read, is a high enough quality to print off sparkling 11″x17″ photos.

It also makes me question the quality of my printer, and whether or not I can actually utilize the features it has. I’ve been using a Canon 4 megapixel Powershot for a couple of years. I had another one before that. I think I pawned it because I wanted to buy Charlie a PlayStation 2 for our anniversary. Then I was sad because I didn’t have a digital camera anymore.

We went to the fair today, early, because I’d been up since five and was beat and I open again tomorrow morning so I didn’t want to be out late. We ate a bit, tried the cajun corn fritters (Eee was correct in saying we needed to try them), had a funnel cake on the way out. We walked around a bit and I watched Charlie and Cavan consume their weight in corn dogs and turkey legs. Which sort of grossed me out. I don’t know why, but I have issues with meat at the state fair. I have issues with meat in general, but that’s another story.

Charlie took a photo of me feeding the goats (above) and when I was uploading the photos I thought it was someone else. I then recognized the earrings and shirt I was wearing, but my hair shocked me. I don’t think I’ve seen myself from the back since well before I stopped getting it cut last year. I definitely need to get the dead ends cut off but I’m afraid of what will happen when I go in somewhere. They’ll tell me I need to cut inches and inches off and all my hard work will be lost.

Whenever I used to watch makeover shows I always kind of laughed when women cried during their haircuts. In a way, I could sort of understand how they felt, but not until now do I realize why.

2 thoughts on “Consumption, Haircuts, and Goats

  1. Oh so much to say…

    I have been absolutely DROOLING over the Cannon Rebel. I have one right now-not digital-and I love it more than when I first got it. I shoot all my good stuff with that one.

    BUT the very thought of the digital sister…oh my. *fans self* In my opinion, they do make the best stuff.
    I am going to have to make a trek up there to play with your stuff πŸ™‚

    THE FAIR!! That is the one of the things I miss the most about Indiana. The photo with the fresh fried veggies made me LOL. I hope you had a fabulous time.

    Maybe tell them a half inch to an inch shorter than you want. Then go from there. I do understand though. I went to my girl once, told her the wrong thing and came out with oodles of layers-totally the opposite of what I wanted. I had finally had it out one length…

    Have a happy Saturday!

    πŸ™‚

  2. On a corn fritter related note…I fell in love with them at the fair (again thanks to eee) and found they actually have a cafe in Carmel. It’s super tasty and if you like seafood, a good place to go. They have crawfish ettoufee (spelled wrong I’m sure), jambalaya, po’boys and lots of other yummy cajun treats.

Leave a Reply

