One Turtle at a Time

I did all my grocery shopping this morning for the entire week, having planned out each meal utilizing as much of the same ingredients as possible without having too much of the same food. For example, I got one of those packs of “stoplight” peppers, half of which I can use with Cuban chicken, the other half I can use in a stir-fry with pasta and other veggies.

Did you know that grocery shopping is one of my all-time least favorite things to do? But I much rather prefer doing it alone than having to go with someone else, for whatever reason.

I spent a lot more money than I thought I would. Then again, I can’t recall the last time I went shopping for an entire seven days of breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I also figured up what we spend each week in other food and realized how much I was actually saving.

After Charlie got up, we headed back out for cat food, a new collar for Trinity (hers is old and busted and stinks to high heaven), and I remembered a few things from the shopping list that I’d thought we had at home, but didn’t. We went back to the grocery store. When we were heading in, I saw something moving out of the corner of my left eye. I glanced over and said “Is that a turtle?” Charlie said yes, he thought it was.

We walked over and Charlie picked the little guy up, who was not all that little, and we both stood there for a few minutes, trying to figure out where he should go. I don’t know if the turtle was a male or female, but I’m just calling him a he because I happen to assign masculine genders to all animals, although I do consider myself a feminist.

Since we were just down the road from a big park with access to the river (this was news to me), we decided to take him there. Otherwise, he’d have been stuck in the parking lot of a really busy store, right off a really busy street, near one of Indy’s busiest intersections.

As soon as Charlie let him go into the water, the little guy’s arms, legs, and head popped right out and he darted into the water. I thought turtles were really slow? He wasn’t. I hope the turtle ends up happy, as opposed to run over.

Leave a Reply

