Downsizing

I’m pretty excited to announce that we’re downsizing the family truckster. We’ve been talking over the idea of getting something to replace our 2003 Hyundai Santa Fe — a vehicle we could not have otherwise afforded if it weren’t for the fact that my Hyundai Sonata was stolen right out of the driveway when we lived in Broad Ripple. The Santa Fe is a nice, comfortable SUV. It gets better gas mileage than a lot of other SUVs because it sits on a car frame, not a truck, and is relatively small.
But that’s nothing compared to the Honda Fit. It gets an estimated 31mpg city and up to 38 highway. That’s, I’m ashamed to say, practically twice the mileage we get on the Santa Fe.

We’re getting a brand new, off-the-assembly-line, “Storm Silver Metallic” 2007 Honda Fit for a couple grand less than the price of what we financed the Santa Fe. Which, by the way, was already 2 years old when we got it. The Fit has a lot of good standard features, but we ordered the remote keyless entry and alarm, and Charlie’s going to have the windows tinted when we get it. Mostly because the interior of every single vehicle is black. We talked about a moonroof but that’s just a luxury.

I don’t know if you’ve seen the Southpark episode about the hybrid cards where the “smug” comes from San Francisco and meets over Southpark because everyone’s driving a Prius and then that meets up with George Clooney’s acceptance speech . . . Well, I’m saying I don’t want to be one of those I-bought-a-really-fuel-efficient-little-car-so-take-that-Man smug people about our purchase, but I’m feeling pretty good about it. I’ve never considered myself a SUV driver and I didn’t want that to be my primary means of transportation while Charlie got a small truck for carpentry work.

I’m definite that we’re going to be taking it for a spin to Chicago or somewhere relatively close in August or September for a vacation. We’ve made a few promises to one another lately about committing ourselves to more travel. This is just a kind-of expensive reason to make us do it.

Leave a Reply

