Remember Bread Makers?

Remember when bread makers were all the rage but no one who had one ever used it but twice? I was just thinking about that.

In other news, I talked to the doctor. I have debated how much information I want to write about because then everyone on the InterWeb will know all my business. All three of you.

I have an appointment Friday morning. Chances are that my one positive test (I had one last Friday and three negatives thereafter) was probably a false positive due to the fact that I kept it in the bathroom, which you’re not supposed to do. It also may be that I was/am knocked up, but in the wrong place. She said with all the abdominal swelling, lower back pain, nausea, and vomiting I may have an ectopic (tubal) pregnancy. This is relatively common for people on birth control, who are overweight, and who smoke. It’s something I’ve considered over the past couple of days and if it turns out to be the case, I’m okay with it. I have no plans to have children, but I have to admit I was thinking “I’m going to be 32 this year. If it doesn’t happen now, it probably won’t ever happen.” Then I started looking up the prices of cribs and strollers and clothes and started to consider the years afterwards . . . I don’t like having the option taken away from me, but I also think that since my symptoms haven’t worsened too much, this might not even be the situation.

Of course, the doctor was hesitant to start diagnosing me over the phone, but we discussed some concerns related to gastrointestinal difficulties. The kinds of things that point to the gallbladder or IBS.

My best guess is that I’ve just had a combination of PMS and IBS. Although disgusting, it would mean no major surgery in the near future.

So that’s the news thus far. Nothing diagnosed. Could be no big deal. But chances that I’m going to be called “Mommy” any time soon are pretty slim.

Leave a Reply

