I Thought I Was So Much More Nerdy!

Taken from Becca.

I am nerdier than 51% of all people. Are you nerdier? Click here to find out!

I thought I would have been more of a nerd. Then, being the geek I am, I looked up the defintitions of words such as geek, nerd, dweeb, dork. Definitions, especially when it comes to more modern terms, can vary, of course.
I discovered that I am a “geek” because of the fact that I have slightly higher social skills than nerds and am not as computer-oriented. Also, I consider myself an expert in some subjects that more “popular” people would fine boring or, you guessed it, “geeky.”

I always thought they went in scales like that, too:
“Geeks” tend to be the most tolerable of the group as this is a term referring to someone with a particular bent in one industry or niche (such as literature, Sci-Fi, Star Trek, science, math, etc…).
“Nerd” can be a complimentary term when it comes from certain people but generally related to those with a proficiency with computers and a lower level of social skill.
A “dweeb” can be a nerd or geek in some instances (but not necessarily) with absolutely no social skills.
Lastly, a “dork” is just a reference to someone's behavior or lack of tact when it comes to social situations. Napoleon Dynamite could be either a dork or a dweeb.

Leave a Reply

