Even My Dreams Are Boring

I seem to go through stretches where I don't remember any of my dreams for a while. This is usually when I'm on a relatively normal schedule. Then I'll wake up six times at night, always falling back to sleep to pick up where I left off. Those dreams I can recall because I wake up right in the middle of them.
Lately I've been having a lot where I'm talking to old friends, or people I haven't seen in a while. I'm either arguing with them or making up. I'm sure you can imagine how frustrating this can be when I wake up and demand to know why my brain is trying to force me to be friendly with people I don't care to be around anymore.

A few nights ago I had a dream where Charlie left me for no apparent reason (he just walked out the door and said “See ya!”) and I hooked up with a guy I thought was 35 and who thought I was 25. Realistically, it was more like the other way around, although I have no idea why this issue arose in the dream. Without going into the gory details, the “hook up” was not satisfying. He was, anatomically, like a Ken doll. There was just a smooth bump. He seemed to enjoy himself but I couldn't figure out why. I left him at my house because my “assistant” (I don't get it, either) told me I needed to get to the airport. When I arrived I looked at a clock that said it was 11:15am. I looked down at my ticket, which said my flight left at 6:30 in the morning. I got angry with my assistant for not keeping better track of things.

It seems as I've gotten older my dreams have become a lot less interesting. Instead of people cutting off my legs and forcing me to crawl through hedge mazes while my legs grow back, or being attacked by thirteen year-old runners who are trying to escape their Olympic coaches and take me hostage, my brain just works on what happened earlier that day. The archetypes and issues are plain as day. It's like I see a car on the street, go home, fall asleep, and just have a dream that I bought that same car. Or I have to pee really bad and have a dream that I'm pregnant and my water broke. It's just not very exciting.

Leave a Reply

