Random Observations

I woke up yesterday with the threat of a migraine looming over me. It didn't come to a head until almost 4 in the afternoon. After an hour I laid down, took some Excedrin Migraine, had a couple shots of espresso in water and waited for it to pass. For the second time in the past couple of months I was nauseated. I used to be happy that I didn't throw up with my migraines, but last time I did. I'm not happy about that.
I realized afterwards that my migraines are like nightmares. Or car accidents. Or giving birth. Once it's all over I can't believe it really happened.

In Lowe's today we found a $70 Shop Vac on sale for $29. I never really appreciated the “after Thanksgiving” sales people go on about until today. I swept the holy hell out of the entire house, every nook, cranny, crevice and corner. I can't believe that after seriously cleaning yesterday there was still enough crap to fill up a third of a 12-gallon canister. GROSS.

Also in Lowe's today an eight-year-old boy was more considerate than his own parents. We were trying to make it past them with the giant Shop Vac box and they pushed their stroller right in front of us. Charlie said “Excuse me,” and the little boy came around from the other side of his parents to move the stroller. What a sorry state of affairs, when your parents are so engrossed in looking at paint chips that you have to move your baby sister out of someone else's way.

Thanksgiving was decent. Food was good, as always, but I'm not looking forward to the trip up to my maternal grandparents' tomorrow. Not just because it's the day before I have to be back at work and school and noses are shoved against grindstones, but for several other reasons. My mom's brother in law just passed away a few months ago. His wife, my mom's sister, is stuck taking care of two illegitimate grandchildren, a son who's been diagnosed with schizophrenia, another who's in prison for a decade. My mom's other sister is getting divorced but doesn't want to tell anyone about it. My grandparents are getting worse and worse. My grandma can't get around well at all anymore and has to use a cane or walker but won't, from what I understand. Oh, and my grandfather blacks out when he's behind the wheel of a car. But don't try to talk with them about the possibility of even thinking about getting information on a retirement home. I guess my dad broached the subject delicately last year and next thing you know the whole family is under the impression that he's trying to have them declared incompetent and have them shipped to a terrible nursing home where they'll be beaten, raped, and robbed.

I haven't the faintest idea how I'm going to get the rest of my Christmas shopping done. I just deleted the paragraph I wrote about who I have left to shop for. a.) Because I know you don't care and b.) because I don't want to think about it anymore.

Leave a Reply

