Did You Vote Yet?

I voted on the way home from class. I stopped at the polling place, walked in, got my paper ballot, scribbled in one circle, put it in the machine, and left. It was quick, painless, and a bit of a relief. I think I've only ever voted in one midterm election, for some reason. I'm not sure why. I think I was always in between residences or I wasn't registered in time, or I didn't feel I knew enough about the candidates to make an informed decision. And, to be completely honest, felt like they weren't as “important” as presidential elections. I think I'll be voting every single time from now on. I care too much about what's going on in the world to just not vote.
I heard a quote on NPR this morning from Garrison Keillor; “I never vote for anyone, I always vote against.” I don't know who said it, but it struck a chord with me. I told Cavan this should be his motto. If he really thinks no one is worth his vote, at least take a few moments to vote against all of them by going straight Green or Libertarian or something. It may make a difference in the short-term, it may not. But at least someone from a third (or fourth) party is getting enough Cavans that they'll get financing for the next election.
If all the kids out there who don't care enough, or who think “my vote doesn't count” actually came out, we could have Nader as president right now. Or Dean. Or Gore. Who cares? Anyone's better than this self-righteously indignant bastard who plays favorites.

In fact, I was watching a program on Nazi Germany on the History Channel Sunday before my meeting and kept noticing parallels between Hitler and Bush. Seriously. I know people say that and it's been trendy lately to compare someone to a Nazi, but I really saw comparisons. I kept saying sarcastically “Wow, that sounds familiar.” “Hey, that sounds like someone I know!” Charlie laughed, but it's really not very funny.

Leave a Reply

