150086

Cavan told me something yesterday that pains me: he's not going to vote because he doesn't believe in any of the candidates. “They're two sides of the same coin.” I hate hearing people from my generation and younger say this kind of stuff because I feel like that's why we're in the mess we're in; too many young people who feel like their vote either doesn't count or everyone in politics is a crook. I'm not disputing the latter, but some crooks are worse than others and I don't want to see them in office.
I'm one of those occasionally idealistic people who thinks it's important to send a message to our government, and while I would have prefered it if the message had been sent six years ago, we can at least get some Republicans out of the House and Senate.
Sometimes I wonder – if all the people who don't bother voting actually did, would our electoral system be moot?

Leave a Reply

