It’s Official

I can say definitively that my illness is in no way caused by the booze on Saturday night, although it may be slightly related in a now-that-didn’t-really-help-did-it sort of way. I don’t want to gross you out, so I’ll just list a few of the symptoms I’ve developed over the past four days: dizziness, hot flashes, cold sweats, nausea, abdominal pain, abdominal swelling, and the usual lower GI factor that no one likes to talk about.
I’m no longer vomiting – that was only on Sunday and it wasn’t very productive, anyway. I’m freezing right now but I was sweating all Saturday night and whenever I’m moving around at work. I have some muscle aches but most of those are from the dry-heaving.

I can’t find my thermometer so I’m not sure if I have a fever. I really don’t want to go to the doctor until I try to control my symptoms. I think I may have eaten food with too much spice/fat so I’m going to do the BRATT diet: bananas, rice, applesauce, tea, toast. I also need to avoid caffeine, which I haven’t been doing, and dairy.

If I’m still feeling bad tomorrow I’ll head to the medcheck/immediate care center or see if I can get in with my doctor. Best guess is a stomach virus with symptoms that have been exacerbated by a poor diet.

Leave a Reply

