Birthdays and Dreams and Trips. Oh, My!

I had a dream last night that all our furniture was way too big for any other house. The ceilings are already around nine feet tall, but in the dream they were twice as high and the bookcases reached all the way up and were twice as wide. The couch was twelve feet long and stood five feet tall. It was like something out of a cartoon. I just kept saying “Why did we get such big furniture? Why?”
We got take-out from a little Greek place down the street and I was telling Charlie about the dream which led to a discussion about What's Next. Will Cavan stay? If so, how long? Can we afford this place on our own? Can we afford it if we're both in school? Will the landlord knock off some of the rent if we agree to a two-year lease in June? Doesn't it totally blow to be thinking about this already?

In other news I just placed an order for a very special birthday gift for a friend. I can't tell you what it is since he reads this occasionally. Suffice it to say that I think it will be really good and I'm breaking my own arm patting myself on the back.

Lastly, our Ikea/Weber Grill trip over Labor Day weekend may be cancelled. It appears my parents are inviting the family over to their house, which hasn't happened in years and years. I think I might regret taking the trip, though. It's unclear exactly how much money I would have spent if I went, but I know it'd probably be too much. So perhaps this is a blessing in disguise. It's much better to spend time with your family that you don't see very often than to go on an adrelaine-fueled spending spree at Ikea.

Or so I keep telling myself. Tyler Durden would be mortally offended.

