Oh, Yeah

It's days like this past week, when it's 80 degrees by 10am and the heat index feels like 100 at noon with 90% humidity but no rain, that I remember why I wanted to move to the Pacific Northwest in the first place. Portland, Seattle, Vancouver, whatever. Anything but this. I would surely miss the fresh snow on a winter morning, but you needn't drive very far to find some.
It's weather like this that makes me completely reconsider the idea of buying a house here. I hate the summers here.

My friend Liz is the complete opposite. She can never get warm enough in the winter, fall, or spring, and doesn't like to run her A/C in the heat. No matter what time of year, it's always “too cold” in my house for her. I try to conserve energy so I keep it around 72 or higher in the summer (of course I'd prefer it much cooler), and about 65 or so in the winter. I find that stepping outside puts things into perspective when I'm feeling one way or another. “Oh, it's 90 outside. I guess it feels better in the house than I thought.” A sweater and socks will suffice when I'm cold. It's a lot easier for me warm up than it is to cool down, which I find odd because my body temperature runs a bit lower than average. I'm usually right around 97 degrees. It seems it should be the other way around.

After my novel-length entry yesterday I made myself (and Charlie) proud by attending a party held by a regular named Kelly who comes into the coffeeshop. She and her husband and two kids are moving south of Seattle at the end of the month. She invited me over last night for drinks, food, and buying some of her stuff. The coolest part was that she was donating 20% of book sales to Pages to Prisoners, a grassroots organization that helps to get books to people incarcerated. If I remember correctly, I think one of the people who started this was a visiting minister at my old Unitarian church.
He'd spent some time in prison, himself, but I'm not sure why. I used to think it was due to radical protesting of the Vietnam War, but I recently discovered that he used to be what he called “a communist-hating redneck” in the '60s and it wasn't until about 1980 that he “went liberal” as he calls it. For whatever reason he is empathetic to the plight of people without opportunities who find themselves in jail and spends a lot of his free time visiting and writing prisoners and helping them receive educations and realizing they have choices in life.

Leave a Reply

