Lonely & Trapped

To add to the entry from a couple of days ago, I feel lonely and trapped. I missed a martini party last night I really wanted to go to. For some reason I've been craving lemon drop martinis and cosmos. I spent money I didn't really have on vodka that I now won't have any use for.
I don't have a running vehicle, I'm the only person anyone ever calls to cover their shifts, and I had to force myself to go to sleep by taking Tylenol PM. I'd gotten a little caffeine boost to go to the aforementioned martini party, so I wasn't at all tired by 11pm. If I have to work at 6 in the morning I try to be in bed by 10 so I can get enough sleep to function normally. Of course, our busiest time on Saturday doesn't really start until 8 or 9am so it was almost pointless that I get called in to just make sandwiches and brew coffee we ended up dumping out every hour.

Now I'm home and restless. I didn't fall asleep until after 1am and I felt awful this morning. It didn't help that, despite our now living in a “really nice” neighborhood, someone was still blaring shitty music all night and screaming. It was hot as hell upstairs so I turned on the A/C, closed the windows so I wouldn't have to hear the shouting, hooting, and hollering. This didn't help because, as I found out, there is only one register in my bedroom, and it doesn't put out any air. So it cooled off downstairs and I was still sweating.

Eventually the partiers calmed down and lowered the volume on their music. My sleeping aid kicked in and I fell asleep. I didn't, however, hear my alarm, and woke up with only about 10 minutes to spare.

I need the money and tips for spending cash but I'm getting really irritated with everyone at work. There has got to be some way to resolve the issue of people calling in sick besides just calling me.

Leave a Reply

