106677

Well, Friday was about ten times worse than I imagined it would be. The nasty little tooth that had been causing all the problems came out in a matter of seconds. At first it seemed the numbing shots were going to be the worst part.
Then the one on the right side of my mouth turned out to be a tricky bastard. I could tell something was wrong when they said they were going to “go ahead and numb it a little more.” Huh?

I'm just going to go ahead and suggest that, next time I get any sort of dental work done that involves drilling, cracking, breaking, and popping, I just pay the extra and get put under for a while.
I still have no feeling in my lower lip because the oral surgeon “may have hit a nerve.” Which “may heal in about a week,” or it may be permanent.

The weirdest part was when I heard him calling my name and I finally opened my eyes. I had my MP3 player on but couldn't find any calming music. Every time I switched songs it was electronic music or something like the White Stripes. I really need to update the music on my MP3 player. Anyway, I opened my eyes and said “Huh?”
He asked me, “Have you ever had Hepatitis or HIV?” I'm sure I looked confused because then the doctor said “I ask because I just poked myself with your needle.”
“Huh uh,” I told him, shaking my head.

I'm glad I got it done. I'm glad they didn't tell me what they were going to have to do to get out the tooth on the right side. If they had I probably would have hid under the bed. I'm lucky to have had the opportunity to have it done for cheap. I just wish it hadn't been so damn painful.

I got off work yesterday but went to my 4pm meeting. It took about an hour. 30 minutes into it I started to feel queasy and tired. I'm wondering how I'm going to get through tonight. I have an 8-hour day ahead of me. I'm going to have to take a lot of breaks, I imagine.

Leave a Reply

