Please, Thank You, Sorry

I'm reading this book by Lynne Truss that had been on my Amazon.com WishList for a few months and only into the first chapter I've enjoyed it.
The first chapter is about “polite words” and how difficult it seems for people to just say “Thank you” when we, for example, hold a door open for them. But also how we are offended when they don't thank us, and run through a series of emotions, practically ripping the door off it's hinges and handing them to it, shouting “Here! Next time hold it for yourself!”
So our hurt feelings over not being acknowledged when we do things for others lies in our own vanity and superego.
Or, rather, the point of being polite, to most of us, isn't just altruistic, but to be lauded for our thoughtfulness as well.
I agree with that to an extent, but I believe there are times I have done things without any expectation of reciprocation and was surprised when those things were acknowledged. However, for the most part, I do expect a thank you, a please, a sorry once in a while and am often shocked at people's complete lack of respect for the world around them.

I took the book with me to my meeting today because I figured I'd be earlier than everyone else. Throughout the meeting I noticed people's lack of respect for one another. Chris ignored us while Annie was talking, despite the fact that she didn't bury her nose in the schedule while he was talking. Audrey got more and more tense throughout the meeting and, when it was finally announced that were done, she flew out the door without a goodbye to anyone. Matt straggled in late, as usual, wearing sunglasses, and leaned his head against the wall through the entire hour, arms crossed over his chest. LP brought his toddler and proceeded to wander around the store, entertaining the boy while his managers were trying to talk. The only people who seemed attentive were me, Toby, and Crista.

I don't know, exactly, what any of this means, or why anyone acted the way they did. No, none of us wanted to be there. No, none of us wanted to be micromanaged and told to fill out a thousand little sheets of paper. But we were all there, we were getting paid to be there, and it's a part of our job to go to a monthly meeting.
The thing that gets me is how totally wrapped up in each of their lives these people are. I've barely been here 6 months and, after just one, one-hour meeting, I feel like I'm going to have a very hard time going in to work tomorrow with a smile on my face.

Leave a Reply

