Allergies

After all of my sinus problems and sneezing fits, a friend I used to work with recommended her allergist. I was standing in the kitchen, thinking about what my conversation might be like with the doctor . . .
“Have you changed laundry detergents, soaps, fabric softeners? Have you started using any new house cleaners or medicines?”
Then I remembered that week when Charlie and I shared a really nasty cold and how, when we went to The Good Earth to get some Emergen-C, we also bought an herbal immune supplement.
I grabbed the bottle and read the ingredients, but didn't know what most of the crap was. I traced back mentally to when the sneezing fits began: a few days after I started taking it.
I've been taking it every day with my vitamins and prescription, so I vowed to stop for a couple of days and see if it made a difference.
I have sneezed several times since then and had a few fits of 4 or 5 in a row, but it hasn't been nearly as bad. In fact, I noticed a difference almost immediately. I usually take everything at 9pm and when I got up the next morning, I could breathe out of both nostrils (something I haven't done in about a month) and I didn't achoo all morning.

In other health news, my blood work came back completely normal. I have not eaten myself into pasta-and-rice-induced Type II diabetes. Why my doctor had that concern now excapes me, unless you consider the fact that I feel thirsty a lot. But that's probably related to the fact that I drink a good amount of coffee and am probably dehydrated.

Leave a Reply

