I Need These Boots to Match My Purse

In other superficial, materialistic news, I found a $60 Nine West handbag at a crappy store near my house on clearance for $11. I think it was marked down about five times before I got to it. This is sort of a knock-off of Marshall's and TJ Maxx, but even worse stuff. Because of the location and clientele's tastes, brand names like Nine West sit around, while Baby Phat and JLo gear fly off the shelves.
To be totally honest, that's one of the brighter sides of living in this neighborhood: for the most part, the stuff I like gets clearanced.

I feel like I'm turning into a brand whore, where I never cared before. But there are certain names that I'm attracted to: Nine West handbags; Birkenstocks, Crocs, Steve Madden, and Rocket Dog shoes; Kenneth Cole Reaction all-of-the-above . . . Sigh.

But when it comes right down to it, I still find excellent deals on the few brands I have actually purchased (liking the above-names doesn't mean I actually own all of them), and I think eleven bucks for any kind of bag is probably a pretty good deal. The cheaper styles at your Payless and Target stores are usually more expensive. Charlie made a joke about how it's “beginning,” as if I'm starting to develop a taste for expensive things. If that were the case, I'd be out shopping the Coach store and Saks, perusing the racks for $1200 polka-dot dresses by Anna Sui or Vera Wang and Kate Spade accessories, not being thrilled about a 75% markdown at A.J. Wright.

I guess I'm at least learning that quality is sometimes better than quantity, the opposite of which used to be my middle name. If I had a that many middle names, that is.

Leave a Reply

