I Got Diabetes for Christmas! YAY!

I'd have to say I had a pretty good holiday. Except for the weather, which was confusing at best. We boarded the dogs so we were able to stay at my paternal grandmother's Christmas eve until after 10pm. The next day we drove in rain to my maternal grandparents' house in northwestern Indiana. By the time we got back to Indy, the rain had turned into a heavy snow. The roads were all slushy and there wasn't a coffeeshop open in the city except for a Starbucks on the north side of town. I sheepishly admit that, not only did we go, I waited in line for 20 minutes to get a mocha. Sigh.
The gifts we received were exactly what we wanted. My parents got Charlie a surprise, though, a really cool bowling shirt with his name on it that he absolutely loves. I got a pair of black Betula Birkenstock clogs that I will be wearing to work every evening and morning. Well, among other great things, like a really nice Dremel tool for Charlie and a wok for me. I mean, us. Ha, ha.

Speaking of work, my first day back in almost a week is tomorrow. I'm ready to go in and have something to do, plus get a paycheck, but I'm not looking forward to three 6 AMs in a row.

I finally made a doctor's appointment to follow up on her diabetes concerns. I have to make another appointment to have blood drawn. I don't think this is going to happen any time this week; I'm supposed to fast after midnight the night before they test my blood sugar and I can't guarantee that I won't be chugging Americanos at work to get through the mornings. I'll probably do it on Monday but this means I have to call them on Friday to set up the appointment. At least I'll finally be getting it out of the way. I'm somewhat of a hypochondriac, but only in the sense that once something tells me they're suscpicious of something, I get that thing stuck in my head. I don't just create illnesses to obsess over after reading about them on the Internet. I just have doctors tell me there's something they want to look into and I can't stop thinking about it.
For example, this past summer when I first saw this doctor, she had me tested for hirsutism and premature menopause, but there was a two-week gap between when I found out if I was going to be a hairy-wolf-woman/have my uterus removed, and when I actually had the blood drawn. Plenty of time to feel concerned about hair removal programs and hormone replacement therapies.

My main concern with the diabetes is that, from what I understand, it's not covered by any insurance. I don't know much about it (I've not obsessed too much about it, to be honest, so there hasn't been a lot of research on my part), so I have no idea if Type I isn't covered while Type II is . . . Which would be absolutely ridiculous because in the adult-onset cases, most chances are it's your own fault for being fat, whereas in the former you're born with it and have no control, so why would your insurance provider not pay for part of your treatment?
What I do know is that, even if I did have it, it's probably something I could get under control with a little change in diet and exercise. My problem now is that I eat, maybe, once a day, and it's usually pretty late at night. It's a terrible habit to have gotten into, but it just seems that's when I'm actually hungry. I also know that, while my clothes fit looser and I have lost some weight, I'm still probably 10 pounds away from a good target weight.

I don't want to make plans strictly based on whether or not I have Type II – because then it's easier to do nothing (keep smoking, keep not working out) if the tests come up negative. But I know if they're positive, I absolutely have to get my ass in gear.
I have to, anyway. No ifs, ands, or big butts.

Leave a Reply

