85270

I woke up with a mildly sore throat on Tuesday morning. Yesterday morning it had developed into a full-fledged cold, complete with hot flashes, cough, and dizziness. At one point I was at work and had been rushing around to clean up when I realized I was on the verge of passing out. Then I got nauseous, which was really great.
When I got home around 11, Charlie was there. He'd called in sick and was sprawled out on the couch, surrounded by Kleenex, hot tea, water bottles, and cough drops. We both bascially did nothing all day but catch up on the DVR recordings from the past week, watching “The Forty Year-Old Virgin” and, eventually, making a trip to The Good Earth in Broad Ripple for vitamins.
I got some packets of “Emer'gen-C,” a 1,000mg fizzing powder that's supposed to be a super energy booster. We also got some green tea and a bottle of “Immune Action” that's all homeopathic supplements for your immune system. Obviously.

I feel a little better today, but I'm dreading going in to work this afternoon because I always end up doing so much phsycial crap and I know it's not going to make me feel any better. But I don't think I'm sick enough to call in. It's one of those places where you have to call everyone on the phone list to try and find a replacement for your shift. It's almost not worth it. My only hope is that the girl I'm closing with is somewhat sympathetic to my not feeling well and steps it up a bit to help out. I've only ever closed with her once but I clearly recall doing all the grunt work – and the kicker was when I realized she'd clocked me out before I was even done mopping, while she just stood there and counted money.
It's only going to be a few hours but it's the last thing I want to do today. I'd rather wear myself out cleaning my own home.

Leave a Reply

