Odds and Ends

I am proud to say that I have almost all of my holiday shopping done. Unfortunately, most of it is floating around out there in delivery-land with hesitant delivery dates in the back of my mind. I did a lot more of my shopping online this year because I just haven't had the time to get in the car and drive somewhere to do it in person. I don't feel that it makes the gifts I select impersonal, since I am still careful to get things that I hope people will love, but it is a little odd to know that you just bought, say, four or five different things from Amazon or Overstock and now you have to wait to see if they actually show up.

I'm almost done with this semester. Next Wednesday is my last final and I don't really have to be in any other classes this week. At least, I don't think so.

I actually put up some Christmas decor this year. I didn't go all out with the tree and whatnot, since we have a lot less space at this house than the last. We took the top part of the tree and placed it on the bottom part of the base, threw some ornaments on it, and called it Christmas. Charlie and Cavan, I think, would both like to put lights outside, but we haven't really got anywhere to plug them in. It's been so incredibly cold the past few days that I don't particularly want to run and extension cord through any windows or doors.
It's snowing right now and I believe it's somewhere between 12 and 20 degrees which, when you get right down to it, doesn't make a bit of difference. That 8 degree gap isn't going to warm my car up any faster.

So I'm taking a creative writing course online next semester. I'm kind of in the same boat as Scott, which is a bit of a slump. However, he has actual fans and political and social commentary, while I have a very small reader base which consists mostly of a few friends who occasionally come over to see what I'm bitching about, and nothing of real importance to say. But I'm hoping this course jars something loose in me creatively that can spice things up around here a bit.

I need new batteries for my digital camera. I was trying to videotape my cat while he was quietly humping one of the dogs' plush toys and the thing just died on me. The camera, not the cat.

Leave a Reply

