Splitting Hairs

I don't know how I manage it, but I have a bad habit of getting involved in arguments with people who like to nitpick. Charlie does it, my mom did it, Kate kinda did it, and people on Craigslist do it.
I don't know what joy people find in splitting hairs, redirecting arguments, and trying to make me lose focus. I don't know how they do it or why, other than as some sort of defense mechanism.

I probably shouldn't tell you this, but I'm easily confused in arguments. I start out with one topic, say something about religion, and end up wondering why I'm talking about the remote control for the television. That's not a great example, but things do range from the basic to the really-odd-things-to-argue about.

In the past week or so I've responded to people for saying nasty things, like calling someone a “retard” or patting themselves on the back for making a lot of money, but I haven't been able to defend myself because they go off on other topics that have nothing to do with what I originally said. I had one guy call me a “moron” because I said I wasn't that ambitious. The whole thing was blown way out of proportion and now I'm irritated because he missed my point entirely. Anyway. Enough about that.

In other news, or new next door neighbors flaked out on the landlady. They had an appointment to meet with her and sign the lease a week and a half ago and they never showed. After many phone calls over the course of the past few days she finally determined that they didn't want the place (one of the two potential roommates had his mom tell the landlady he wasn't interested). The sad thing is, this guy is 28 years old. There were other people who came to look at the place that I'd have much rather lived next door to, but it was sort of a first-come, first-served situation and they were the ones who could move in the soonest.
So Bev is back on the phone with some other people, trying to work something out. I also went ahead and re-posted the ad for her.

My math textbook still has not arrived and I already have homework. The books are printed only by the school and they're loose-leaf, so I have to get a binder for it. This means they won't buy the book back since they can't guarantee that all the pages are there. This irritates me as I spent over $90 on it and it still isn't here. I have this class tomorrow around noon, so after spending almost ten bucks in shipping, I . . . well, you know. Bleh.

Time for a little something to eat then heading down to campus in the hopes that I find a parking spot. I have a three-hour, once-a-week class on Mondays, so I only have one class on Wednesdays. I'm not sure now whether this was a good idea or if I should try and take another three-hour class on Wednesdays?

Leave a Reply

