I Can Tell I'm Getting Bored

I can tell I'm getting bored because I just dyed my hair for the third time in two days. I went from blonde to dirty blonde to medium brown with red highlights to just-plain-burgundy. After bleaching it for so long darker colors don't tend to stay so washing it this morning pulled out a lot of the color.
I'm not happy being a brunette again, but I hate the upkeep that comes with being a naturally-dark blonde. I can't seem to get the yellow out; I can't get it that platinum color I really want without dumping eighty or more bucks at a salon.

I can tell I'm getting bored because I keep finding excuses to duck out of work: long lunches, going out to put up flyers, driving people to the pharmacy to find creams and ointments for their weird spider bites.

I can tell I'm getting bored because I have stopped most forms of communication with people. I don't want to leave the house when I get here and I don't want to spend any money since I haven't got any.

My wisdom tooth finally stopped the piercing pain that shot up into my skull and down into my shoulder. I looked up the IU dental school yesterday so I could make an appointment, but found out that even if you have insurance you have to get a “pretreatment estimate” and pay that the day of the tooth-pulling. At this point in the financial state of things, even having a student knock my tooth out isn't an option. So that's really great.

I finally went down to campus and found out where my classes would be, applied for student loans. The last time I walked into the financial aid office I turned around and walked right back out. The lines were out the door and, since I'm taking my math at a community college and transferring the credits (my adviser was kind enough to advise me of this option because I'm terrible at math and this course, she says, is a lot cheaper and a lot less busy work), the people in line weren't really “in line.” Okay, that seems like kind of a nasty thing to say. But after two semesters at a university, the local community college really does have a completely different feel. The people may still be higher-education students, but they seem less organized. There's a sign-in sheet in the financial aid office and half the people that came in after me yesterday didn't bother to sign in (you know, next to the huge, bright 8×10 sheet of paper with an arrow pointing to the clipboard that stated “PLEASE SIGN IN”). So there was mass confusion and people were getting pissed off that they had to wait, or angry at other people who just wandered up to the counter, or those who wandered up to the counter were shitty that they were asked to wait.

I can tell I'm bored because I've spent entirely too much time in front of the television this evening. I've watched Penn & Teller's “Bullshit” on ghost hunters; an episode of “How Do I Look?” with Tami from the LA “Real World” getting a makeover for her old girl-bandmate; most of the Al Franken show on Sundance about Karl Rove's sordid history; part of an episode of “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit” that I've seen before; the same episode of “The Soup” — twice, mind you; and part of “Being Bobby Brown,” and “The Surreal Life” with Jose Canseco, Bronson Pinchot, and Janice Dickinson . . . both of which were extremely disturbing.

I can tell I'm bored because I'm considering all kinds of options for school. My fall semester is too specific (criminal justice, social work, math) to my current path to get sidetracked, but I'm getting sick of hearing all the people who are now interested in forensic psychology. I'm concerned about the job market when I finally get out of grad school (5, 6, 10 years from now, depending upon what degree I choose to pursue). I was told “it's because of all those shows out there.” Which I think translates to: There are a lot of new television programs centered around the fascinating science of forensics in the criminal justice field. But what bothers me is that there's a huge difference between forensic science and forensic psychology. I hope students interested in the former can separate it from the latter. It's like law school – all of the sudden everyone I know knows someone else who's in it and it's making the future job market look a little screwy.

Maybe I'd like to be a literature professor. As long as we read the stuff I'm interested in.

Leave a Reply

