Strangers attack me, I have a nice weekend anyway.

We had a pretty nice weekend except for the fact that I’m paranoid I’ll miss my psych test’s closing date – tomorrow at 4pm.
On Saturday we spent the day laying around, watching TV, cleaning, and I did some shopping. Saturday night we had a lovely dinner with Traci from my old full-time job, and her husband Medhane. Andy and Amy also came. I got quite trashed by the end of the night. One of those drunks where I thought my head kept popping off and floating around me. I was really woozy. Woke up at 6:30am thinking I was going to barf, but I didn’t.
Got back up at 11am Sunday morning, showered, and headed out to my parents’ house in Lafayette. We had a yummy dinner: salmon with a cheesy reduction, olive bruschetta, endive salad, dirty rice with beans (lima?), and a raspberry, strawberry, and banana over chocolate and real whipped cream. I noticed my mom kind of just picked at her plate, which was frustrating, because I wanted her cheesy sauce not wasted but on MY plate. Charlie, of course, was in heaven.
We talked about the difference between existentialism, nihilism, objectivism, and some other -isms. I ended up looking them up in the dictionary then sending my dad specific definitions. I had existentialism way wrong. I was looking at it from the terms of Camus’s “The Stranger” and made it out more like nihilism or . . . you know, what’s his face . . . Nietzsche. I’m spelling it wrong, I’m sure.
Then, today, we had an impromptu cookout. Just a few people came over, had burgers, hot dogs, and beer. It was very nice and relaxed.
But I really, really, really need to take my test tomorrow.
Oh, and I just found out I’m allowed to drop the freshman seminar course. But I’ll only be reimbursed 50-75% percent for it. Still — yay!

I’m probably heading out near Cinci Wednesday night to have dinner with Dana. I got royally chewed out by one of his listeners last night. I was trying to figure out why I hadn’t heard anything from him in a while and was looking at his website which, apparently, has a message board. As a joke, I posted “Call your friends. We worry about you.” Partially because I wanted him to call me, and partially because I saw a note he’d posted to a concerned listener asking where he was. He’d stated that he had taken 2 weeks off for “personal business.”
Why the hell hadn’t he come out and seen me or had me come out in all that time? I wondered.
So, after my joke message board post, I got an email saying someone had responded. “If you’re really his ‘friend,'” the listener wrote, “why don’t you just call him instead of leaving personal notes in his WORK messages??!! I’m really sure he’d appreciate that.”
Whoa. Sorry.
He said I handled it well. I had just said I was sorry and I would go ahead and give him a call. He said he didn’t even know who this person was. Most of the listeners who post messages he’s met a handful of times, but this chick just came out of the blue. I thought it was funny, if unnecessary.

Leave a Reply

