ADHD, Baby!

I must have a really short attention span. I can't seem to get out of the funk created by being at the same job for a while. It's barely been a year (plus a month or two, I guess) and I'm already antsy, agitated, bored, frustrated. How I managed to stay in social services for 8 years, I don't know. I suppose it was the freedom; my time was really my time. Living with my client meant grocery shopping, laundry, and house cleaning together while I was at work, so whatever I did away from home was just what I wanted to do. Now, between both jobs and the paper, I have to cram a trip to Marsh in 15 minutes.
Kate had some pretty crappy experiences here with the department she was in. On Tuesday she was treated like a complete idiot and ended up walking out. I feel bad because we referred her for that job. Of course, part of me was afraid something like that would happen; as soon as her boss left, she'd be pushed out the door.
Other people here are just as disillusioned. We had someone quit a couple weeks ago because he hadn't been promoted in six years, another guy left because his boss overheard him talking about his raise and threatened to fire him, our department has had a dozen people leave since I started and only about 3 of those positions were filled. Of course, my department has a hundred or so people in it. Maybe around 80 . . .
But that doesn't mean that I don't wonder if I'm making a hasty decision by going back to school and leaving this job. I make more than Charlie and, combined, my two jobs pay pretty well. Without the bigger paycheck and just student loans, I'm not sure how I'm going to do. I'll be cutting my paycheck, basically, in half, and we'll have to try and budget really well. Of course, I can always work more hours when school is out, during holidays, etc…
I am a little worried that I won't get nearly enough hours. At the part time gig, 20 is considered full time. I know quite a few people that can't seem to get more than 24 or 30 hours per week. Not that I want 40, but when I'm not in class, I'd hope to pick up more hours elsewhere. If they would open that one closer to my house I could work there as well as the one where I am now. I don't think that would be too bad.
But I also don't know many places that want to hire someone part time then let them adjust their schedule as they go. And the last thing I want is to get stuck back in retail. I couldn't go back to the bookstore because the manager hates me now.
Ugh.
I'm just thinking out loud, I guess. I just am always second-guessing myself, wondering if I make hasty decisions and don't think them through. If we hadn't nearly doubled our rent and I could trade in my car for something a little cheaper, I'd feel better about making this kind of a leap, financially. And while we're not exactly rolling in it, we're doing better than we have in a while.
I'll guess we'll see how it goes, but the last thing I want is to go for a semester, find out it's not financially feasible and end up dropping out again. I'd feel pretty crappy.

Leave a Reply

